The Smartphone

Sometimes you have to regress
Sometimes you recede
Other times you’re outgoing
Then other times, you see

Regressing to the iPhone
Always there for you
It brings comfort to your soul
You in the blue bayou

Put that away, she commands
Instantly I’m mad
I don’t want to, I reply
It’s my only tie to land

Today’s lesson is at hand
You cannot be off
In this wonderland of yours
Where I would simply scoff

I glare back at the teacher
Fists clenched on my lap
How could she do such a thing
As this? It’s all a trap!

School is for the dumb, I say
It is not for me
I’m done with this place
And I plan to leave

I straighten up in my stool
Ready to fight out
Of this ridiculous place
This place of bad insight

All I want is to be free
From the bonds of life
Always able to be me
Bliss, for eternity

So why do I feel this way?
I want to live life
To it’s fullest, and be free
To do what I may like

But I just don’t get it all
Why is it this way?
Why do I have to do things
That just ruin my day?

Why must I work?
I want to lie down
Down on my bed
In my nightgown

But as hard as I try
I just can’t do it
Why is this, I shout
And throw off my blanket

In the mirror I stare
Back at my own reflection
I look terrible
Why the look of perplexion?

I’m just so lost
I don’t know why
But whenever I try
I always wish to die

Nobody cares for me
No, not a single soul
Why would they?
I’m not all that special!

Life is about joy
Not grief, not pain
It’s about finding it
Through the misery

Life is good
It’s never all that bad
As terrible as it may seem
It always stands tall, like wood

Leave a Reply

