Bunches of Words

Showerhead

(Object Poem – Drawn on paper in the shape of a faucet.)

There’s always that one day
Where everything goes wrong
You wake up late, you don’t eat breakfast.
Crap! You have a test today!

Throughout the day you’re wiping your face
On your sleeve, and gawking at the particles
Of grease and oil that have smeared all over it
You must resist the temptation.

All day long you are driven mad
by the grease, the sheets of oil
that cover you from head to toe
Everything you grab gets covered in the stuff!

What makes even worse
is if it’s picture day
Your photo looks terrible!
Where did it all come from!?

Immediately you realize
That it’s all your own fault
For you forgot something important…
You forgot to shower today.

___

The Pit

(Echo Verse Poem)

Going down to the bottom 
Got ’em! 
Thinking all the way 
Pay 
Why am I even here? 
Tear 
I didn’t do anything wrong! 
Throng

___

Bound to Earth

(Pantoum)

I cannot hope to fly
Wings absent from my shoulders
I turn about and shout
“Why am I rooted to the ground!?”

Wings absent from my shoulders
I can never get off the ground
“Why am I rooted to the ground!?”
I wasn’t meant to be abound!

I can never get off the ground
Jumping just isn’t enough
I wasn’t meant to be abound!
Up there, where the air is tough!

Jumping just isn’t enough
I cannot hope to fly
Up there, where the air is tough!
I turn about and shout

___

Dreams

(Sonnet)

She’s the one I notice
Walking down the hall
Bouncing her basketball
Taking time to throw this
But I secretly admire
Her overpowering charm
I reach out my arm
As if I’m playing a lyre

But no matter how hard I try
We both feel this invisible wall
I can’t connect with her
In the way that is proper
But I will try through it all
To take off with her and fly

___

What is Love?

(Three Haiku, Two Tanka)

A dusk, sandy beach
Out under the sun
The orange glimmer of godrays

Blue waves cresting the sand
With seaweed and seashells
Glinting in the summer’s light

Desolate as the moon
Devoid of life
All alone for eternity

Two teenagers lay
Pulling each other closer
Always wanting more
Intertwined in their longing
To stay right there forever

Their eyes locked in love
Staring one another down
Full of emotions
They hug, they kiss on the sand
Their love undeniable

___

Underwater

(Triolet)

I turn about, flying through
The water is always cool
I even float upside-down
I turn about, flying through

In bliss caused by the water
Staying in the swimming pool
I turn about, flying through
The water is always cool

___

Sol

(Villanelle)

Bathing in the summer’s light
I lay down on the sand
Make sure to bring your sunscreen!

Laying next to me is my friend
Always smiling, always caring
Bathing in the summer’s light

She cuddles up next to me
I whisper into her ear,
“Make sure to bring your sunscreen!”

She laughs, I pull her close
Just for a little while
Bathing in the summer’s light

I feel a tremendous glory
In the act of sleeping on sand
Make sure to bring you sunscreen!

Ever wanted to lay down on a beach?
Especially with a friend, it’s great fun
Bathing in the summer’s light
Make sure to bring your suncreen!

Leave a Reply

